I wrote and performed this song at a live worship event several months ago. The full album (featuring me and a bunch of other artists) can be found on Spotify and Youtube.

LOOKING AT THE WAVES

Matthew 14:22-33

Looking at the waves, and I’m sinking

Sinking like a stone.

Looking at the waves, and I’m thinking

Of all the troubles I’ve known.

 

“Come and place your hand inside of mine.

Look me in the eye.

Come and take my hand, O you of little faith,

It’s gonna be all right.”

 

Looking at the waves, and I’m sinking,

I’m sinking fast.

Looking at the waves, and I’m thinking

These good times aren’t gonna last.

 

“Come and place your hand inside of mine.

Look me in the eye.

Come and take my hand, O you of little faith,

It’s gonna be all right.”

 

Walking out to meet my Lord, I stumbled in the sea,

But he is strong to save; the Son of God will rescue me

And with my eyes on you, I walk by faith not by sight,

And I know you are faithful to bear me safely through when you say:

 

“Come and place your hand inside of mine.

Look me in the eye.

Come and take my hand, O you of little faith,

It’s gonna be all right.”

 

“Come and place your hand inside of mine.

And doubt no more.

Come and take my hand, O you of little faith,

I’ll bring you safe to shore.”

Leave a Reply

