Cacophony and Euphony: A Pair of Poems

I wrote the following pair of poems as part of an assignment from The Roar on the Other Side by Suzanne U. Rhodes.  In the poems, I personify the two abstract ideas of “cacophony” and “euphony.”

The definition of cacophony is “1. Jarring, discordant sound; dissonance; 2. The use of harsh or discordant sounds in literary composition, as for poetic effect” (“Cacophony” 226).  Euphony is defined as “Agreeable sound, especially in the phonetic quality of words” (“Euphony” 468).

Blacksmith
Blacksmith (from etc.usf.edu/clipart/)

“Cacophony”

My name’s cacophony;

I cannot be controlled.

I clash and crash and break

Wherever I collide.

With kilometrous stride

I walk and stomp and shake;

When I talk, I grate like

A rake on a gravel

Road or clang like a

Blacksmith making a plow

Or clopple like iron-shod

Steeds on granite pavement.

Why speak but do not shout?

I give each passerby

I meet a clout upon

The ear with my great roar

My name’s cacophony,

So what would I be if

I acted grand or grave?

No, I will bark and whack,

Grumble, thunder, attack,

Without restraint or tact.

Just how else could I act?

My name’s cacophony.

Snow Goose Sketch
Snow Goose Sketch by Arrietty

“Euphony”

Listen.

Can you hear the stream

Bubbling past my home?

Look.

Can you see the gleam

Of the fireflies in the gloam?

Inhale deeply.

Can you smell the crisp

Autumn scent of pine trees?

Turn your face.

Can you feel the wisp

Of the passing breeze?

Pick a pear.

Can you taste the sweet

Summer melting in your mouth?

Look up high.

Can you spot the fleet

Flock of geese going south?


Works Cited

“Cacophony.”  The American Heritage Dictionary.  2nd ed.  1985.

“Euphony.”  The American Heritage Dictionary.  2nd ed.  1985.