Column of Macedon: I, along with all the readers of Column, am so glad you could spare some time to answer a few questions.

 

Alexander Philipson: Thank you.

 

CM: What was your childhood like?

 

A: Overall, it was great.  I loved hunting, had an excellent teacher, and owned the best horse that ever lived at age 12.

 

CM: About Bucephalus, do you plan to continue riding him at the beginning of each battle?

 

A: Of course!

 

CM: Can you describe your parents?  How did they influence you?

 

A: My father was inspirational.  He was tough and challenged me, but I think it was his way of preparing me to fulfill his dream of a Macedonian empire.  My mother was very attached to me and supportive.  Sometimes her snakes escaped, and I would find them in my bed!

 

CM: From your experience, how would you advise parents to raise children?

 

A: With discipline, affection, and high goals.  Encourage ambition and help your children to accomplish their dreams, even when it means being tough on them.

 

CM: Thank you so much for sharing your time and wisdom.  May the gods grant you victory.

 

A: Thank you.  It was a pleasure.

Alexander Taming Bucephalus

I wrote this fictional interview between a Macedonian newspaper and Alexander the Great for school, weaving in some of the facts of his life that I learned about in Alexander the Great by John Gunther.  This biography is well-written, informative, and fun to read.

Leave a Reply

