Overview:

Title:  The Faces of Evil: Interviews with Individuals on the Scale of Evil

Rating:  Three-and-a-half to four stars (good to excellent)

Director:  Deborah Renope

Writer(s):  Tiffany Ship, Deborah Renope,  more

Contact:  View contact information here

Release Date: March 2, 2010 (USA), 1st Cycle of Spring (Harbold), more

Genre:  Documentary

Tagline:  The faces of evil are manifold…are you one of them?/  World-renown reporter Tiffany Ship’s last assignment was her greatest./  From those that brought you Blood Magic: Cannibalism and Spells more

Awards: Giant Slayer Honor™, Academy Award for Best Documentary™,  more

Also Known As:  Burzum (Mordor), I Thaur (Rivendell), more

Parental Discretion Advised:  See why here

Runtime:  Ninety-six minutes

Country:  Many-earth

Language:  Common Speech.

Filming Location(s):  Thornfield Hall

Company:  Juniper Tree Entertainment™: Dedicated to Discussing Nasty Topics

Synopsis: World-renown reporter Tiffany Ship seemed to have done it all.  Mighty warriors had admitted to their dark pasts, daredevil monster hunters had revealed their shadowy techniques, charming princesses had determined to defy their cruel fathers, and enchanted frogs had finally come to grips with their form—all this has been accomplished under Tiffany Ship’s persistent questioning.  But now, she tackles her toughest guests yet amidst the scenic, haunting environs of Thornfield Hall in Hathersage, in the county of Derbyshire, England.  In her final assignment before her tragic death, Tiffany Ship interviews a Dark Lord, an Evil Queen, an Assassin, and an Enchanted Thrall for their insight into the world of evil.

Cast: 

Tiffany Ship………..Herself 

The Dark Lord……..Himself

The Evil Queen…….Herself

The Assassin……….Herself

The Enchanted Thrall…Itself

Deborah Renope……(Voice) Herself

Trivia:  Tiffany Ship reportedly had nightmares concerning her death in the weeks before filming began more

Goofs:  Deborah Renope’s name was spelled incorrectly as “Debra” in one of her credits  more..

Quotes:  Tiffany Ship:  “Do you have friends?”  The Assassin:  “Well, yeah, of course I do…” more

Soundtrack:  The original score was composed by Eithne Brennan more

Plot (Spoiler Alert!):

The audience is first introduced to the interviewees:  the Dark Lord, the Evil Queen, the Assassin, and the Enchanted Thrall all make their appearance.  Tiffany Ship then asks their names.  The Dark Lord, seated majestically in his dark robes, claims that his has been forgotten.  The Evil Queen smiles, adjusts gold and ruby crown, and simpers: “Oh, call me Brianna.”  The Assassin stretches out her legs and says: “Well, I can’t tell, you know, security reasons.  Just call me Melissa.”  The Enchanted Thrall plucks nervously at the chain round its neck and states, “Master would kill me if I told.”  Tiffany Ship then proceeds to inquire more basic facts, e.g.: Where do you live?  “In mine fortress,” replies the Dark Lord.  What about your parents?  “Oh, I disposed of my parents years ago,” frankly admits the Evil Queen.  What’s your favorite color?  “Oh, I dunno,” says the Assassin, “Black, navy, browns, greens…whites…anything that blends in.”  What’s your favorite food?  “Um, well, um,” hesitates the Enchanted Thrall, “Well, um, ham sandwiches, not that I get it much.”

Tiffany Ship embarks on more personal questions aimed at discerning real character.  For example, she inquires, “If you had to take over a kingdom, how would you accomplish it?”  “Why, I would send mine armies to pillage and slaughter and burn, of course,” says the Dark Lord.  (“What if you didn’t have an army?”  “Uh…” meditates the Dark Lord, “Then I would send mine demons to terrorize and tear apart.”)  The Evil Queen’s scheme is a little more complicated: “I would enchant the king, marry him, and then stab him in the heart after the wedding.”  (“What if it was a queen?”  “Then I would have her murdered, or do it myself, which, I can tell you from experience, always saves trouble.”)  The Assassin thinks a moment, then replies: “Well, I would have to know more about the situation, of course, but I would probably poison the royal family’s food, or perhaps the guard’s food, or even influence a weak-minded vassal to aid me.”  (“Does it make a difference if the target is a faerie king or queen?”  “Well, you have to be a lot more careful…” the Assassin begins.)  The Enchanted Thrall sighs: “Well, my master would tell me the kingdom he wanted, then I would do the usual: worm my way into the king’s confidence, then poison his mind.”  (“Do you get any reward from your master for doing this for him?”  “Oh, not ultimately,” is all the Enchanted Thrall reveals.)  The questions become more and more soul-searching.  “Would you kill a baby in order to gain your ends?”  “Why wouldn’t I?” demands the Dark Lord.  Tiffany Ship eventually asks:  “Why are you evil?”  The Dark Lord inquires: “There’s something else?”  The Evil Queen embarks on a lengthy speech on the benefits of sorcery.  “It pays the bills,” the Assassin states, matter-of-factly.  “I am enchanted,” says the Enchanted Thrall.

Finally, Ms. Ship asks: “If you could be immensely wealthy, I mean, if you had the opportunity to be good, you would have riches and power and happiness, but you would be good, would you take it?”  The Dark Lord says immediately: “No.  It is an incomprehensible thought.  I can’t even think it.”   “Oh, I would take the riches,” confides the Evil Queen, “but ultimately you can accomplish so much more being evil…wait…are you suggesting that I am somehow imperfect?  Everything I do is good and wonderful, you know, and for my own ends.  You are insulting me.  Do you know what I do to people who offend me?  Well first I…” (View Parental Content Advisory)  “Well, I dunno, I guess so…yeah, maybe…I guess,” says the Assassin.  Then, watchfully: “Why do you want to know?”  The Enchanted Thrall puffs up its three-foot-six body and proclaims: “Though I be punished for this with three weeks of bread and water, I must speak the truth.  I WOULD.  I’m sorry, Master.”  However, the Evil Queen has been offended, and she storms out, proclaiming her desire and determination to have revenge.  Even the brave Tiffany Ship grows pale.  At this point the interviews cease.  The director’s voice cuts in, and narrates how a few weeks after the interview Tiffany Ship fell down dead at on a park bench while eating a fruit salad, which upon investigation was found to be poisoned.

It is the general consensus that the Evil Queen was behind the tragic occurrence.  Of course, the Evil Queen was never brought to trial as it is difficult to enact human’s justice system in the Other Lands.  Additionally, it was rumored that the Evil Queen had the support of the Dark Lord and his massive army, and authorities were unwilling to risk a war, despite support from many Other-Worlders themselves. The audience is then reminded of the risk of evil, and how they should never give into it, along with a reminder of the great work Tiffany Ship did, and ultimately died for.

Leave a Reply

