These are a few reflections which occurred to me as I wrote a final exam for some of my students. Enjoy.

The scratch on paper of lead or ink

In hurried, frantic meter

Forces me to pause and think

“How well have I been a teacher?”

These young minds into my hands

Were entrusted to me for molding;

To fill with wonders of the lands

And give facts without withholding!

Warily did our classes begin,

And get on in fits and starts.

I know by now I’ve touched the mind,

But did I touch the heart?

Many will stay, while others leave

On their own path to embark.

More important to me than a legacy:

Did my Lord leave His mark?

Leave a Reply

